KONG: SKULL ISLAND Movie Review

I loved Peter Jackson’s King Kong remake back in 2005. I didn’t get to catch it in theaters but I had it in Home Video which has already worn out after multiple viewings. Now, I have it in a very special DVD. In 2016, a King Kong movie was announced for a release this year. The trailer was fantastic. It had Tom Hiddleston (Thor), Brie Larson (Room), John Goodman (10 Cloverfield Lane), and Samuel L. Jackson (Pulp Fiction) in it which is a pretty solid cast. I immediately booked an IMAX ticket on opening day. Weeks passed and I heard that it will be part of the 2014 Godzilla which pulled me out of the hype. I thought it was one of the few and rare standalone movies. I guess everything is a cinematic universe now. I’m kind of tired about it. Marvel got it perfectly and everybody else in Hollywood is trying to do it, too. Come on, people. At least, be creative.

Image result for kong skull island

So, I watched the movie and it wasn’t great, as I’ve expected. I can say that they tried with the plot and the 70’s theme. Yes, I was entertained but not entirely. I came up with a few personal issues with the movie. First, Kong. I enjoy Kong whenever he is on screen wrecking and throwing things but I didn’t like how Kong looks like. He didn’t seem intimidating to me. Yes, he is huge and everything but, even in 3D, I didn’t feel any danger. I watched 2005 King Kong in a 21-inch television multiple times in a decade and he is always overwhelming. IMAX didn’t help Kong’s impact on me. Second, the solid cast wasn’t a solid set of characters.

Image result for kong skull island characters

I’m not an expert in the field of acting but Brie Larson was great in the movie Room but all she did in the movie was carry her camera and look on screen and be awed by everything in Skull Island. Tom Hiddleston’s character was written poorly. His character arc was almost shoe horned in the script. He had an awesome slow-mo in the movie that I thought was good but it didn’t fit well with the overall movie. Samuel Jackson and John C. Reilly were pretty good in it. They both had their own moments in it. The whole movie is a roller coaster.

It had extremely intense moments and, at the same time, very dull moments.

The post-credits scene didn’t really excite me at all but do what you wanna do as long as it’s not bad, I don’t care.

Featured Images Credit: orig11.deviantart.net/8fac/f/2016/208/f/9/kong__skull_island_wallpaper_1920x1080_by_sachso74-dabk0m6.jpg

korsgaardscommentary.com/wp-content/uploads/2017/03/kong-skull-island-kong.jpg

icdn7.digitaltrends.com/image/kong-skull-island-31-1200×675-c.jpg

Leave a Reply

